Close

 

 

 


How Banks Prepare for Possible Events or Emergencies

Last modified: 21 April 2010

Banks in Canada understand that they have a responsibility to safeguard customer’s money on a day-to-day basis as well as through any sort of event or emergency, such as acts of nature, health crises, systems or power failures, or even criminal or terrorist activities. All banks have extensive business continuity plans in place to deal with events that could impact banking operations. They constantly monitor emerging issues and review, test and update these plans to prepare for any foreseen or unforeseen events that could arise. In fact, the banks’ plans and the banking industry’s well-established protocols for cooperation and mutual support were successful in dealing with previous disruptions, including the Quebec ice storm, the SARS outbreak in Toronto and the blackout of 2003 in parts of Eastern Canada.

In preparing for any event, the priorities for the banks are the health and safety of bank employees and customers and the continued delivery of essential banking services.

What are some of the things that the banks do to prepare for a possible event or emergency?

In each of the banks’ business continuity plans, they anticipate what possible events or emergencies might occur, and then outline how the bank would deal with the situation, looking at this like human resources policies and procedures and systems issues. These plans are constantly being revised. The challenge is to ensure that plans are robust enough to be implemented at any time, but flexible enough to adapt to a particular situation as it changes.

Generally, planning is done at three levels:

  • Bank Level — Each bank’s business continuity plan identifies critical functions needed to maintain banking services, such as cross-training employees and building redundancies into the system to ensure that banking services will continue to be available throughout every stage of a possible emergency. Other steps that could be taken include travel restrictions, limiting face-to-face meetings, and determining how key employees could work from home or alternate work sites if necessary.
  • Industry Level — Banks are very inter-connected and are constantly processing transactions amongst each other. The banking industry works in cooperation to deal with the broader issues around business continuity and also works with external organizations, such as health officials, government agencies, regulators and other industries to share information and best practices.
  • Supplier Level — Banks rely on external service providers and suppliers, so the industry ensures that suppliers are prepared to continue to provide these necessary services to banks in the event of an event or emgergency.

What is the CBA’s role in business continuity preparations?

The Canadian Bankers Association brings the banks together to share information and work with other external organizations to assess the impact of any type of event on the delivery of services to customers. Through the CBA, the banking industry also communicates with health and other government officials, regulators and other industries to ensure that plans are in place to deal with events if and when necessary.

External links

Fermer

 

 

 


Préparation des banques aux situations d’urgence

Dernière modification 21 avril 2010

Les banques au Canada comprennent leur responsabilité à l’égard des fonds déposés par leurs clients, tant au quotidien que durant toute situation d’urgence, qu’il s’agisse d’une catastrophe naturelle, d’une crise liée à la santé, d’une défaillance des systèmes, d’une panne d’électricité, voire d’un acte criminel ou terroriste. Toutes les banques ont prévu de vastes plans de poursuite des activités afin de faire face aux événements qui pourraient avoir un impact sur les opérations bancaires. Elles sont constamment à l’affût de l’actualité, et elles examinent, vérifient et mettent à jour ces plans afin de se préparer aux événements prévisibles ou non qui pourraient survenir. En fait, les plans des banques et les protocoles bien établis de collaboration et de soutien mutuels du secteur bancaire ont déjà permis de faire face avec succès à des situations d’urgence, dont la tempête de verglas au Québec, le SRAS à Toronto et la panne d’électricité de 2003 dans certaines régions de l’Est du Canada.

Lorsqu’elles se préparent à un événement, les banques accordent la priorité à la santé et à la sécurité de leurs employés ainsi qu’à la prestation continue des services bancaires essentiels à leurs clients.

Comment les banques se préparent-elles à une situation d’urgence?

Dans son plan de poursuite des activités, chaque banque prévoit les scénarios possibles et les réactions à chaque événement ou situation d’urgence, et adapte en conséquence ses politiques et procédures – telles que les politiques en matières de ressources humaines et les procédures liées aux systèmes informatiques.

Ces plans subissent des révisions périodiques afin de rester à jour. Le défi consiste à s’assurer qu’ils sont assez solides pour être mis en œuvre en tout temps, mais suffisamment souples pour s’adapter à une situation particulière qui évolue.

En général, la planification s’effectue à trois niveaux.

  • Niveau bancaire – Le plan de poursuite des activités de chaque banque identifie les fonctions essentielles au maintien des services bancaires et les façons de les préserver à chaque étape de a situation d’urgence, telles que le partage du savoir et la prévision de redondances dans le système. Parmi les autres mesures qui pourraient être prises figurent la restriction des déplacements, la diminution des rencontres en personne et le travail à domicile ou à d’autres sites, au besoin.
  • Niveau sectoriel – Les banques sont fortement inter-reliées et traitent constamment des transactions communes. Au niveau sectoriel, elles collaborent entre elles sur les grands enjeux liés à la poursuite des activités, mais travaillent également avec des organisations externes, telles que les autorités en santé et de réglementation, les organismes gouvernementaux et d’autres secteurs en vue de partager les renseignements et les pratiques exemplaires.
  • Niveau des fournisseurs – Les banques comptent sur des fournisseurs de services externes. Le secteur bancaire s’assure donc qu’ils sont prêts à continuer à fournir ces services nécessaires aux banques en cas d’urgence.

Quel est le rôle de l’ABC dans la planification de la poursuite des activités?

L’Association des banquiers canadiens permet aux banques de se réunir pour partager l’information et travailler avec d’autres organisations externes afin d’évaluer l’impact de tout type d’événement sur la prestation des services aux clients. Par l’intermédiaire de l’ABC, le secteur bancaire communique avec les autorités en santé et d’autres représentants de l’État, les autorités de réglementation et d’autres secteurs afin de veiller à ce que des plans soient en place pour faire face à tout événement.


Liens externes