Close

 

 

 


Global Banking Regulations and Banks in Canada

Last modified: 11 May 2016
For more information:

Fast facts

  • During the 2007/08 global financial crisis, unlike banks in many other countries, no Canadian banks were bailed out or in danger of failing.
  • The 2007/08 crisis resulted in a series of significant regulatory changes for the international banking sector.  The implementation of these changes is ongoing.
  • The World Economic Forum has ranked Canada’s banks as the most sound in the world for eight years in a row  – a ranking that highlights the fact that banks in Canada are well capitalized, well managed and well regulated.
  • Canadians understand this: When asked to rate the performance of banks in Canada on stability and security, 75 per cent of Canadians provided a favourable rating.

The bottom line

Canada’s banks have been recognized as the soundest banks in the world for eight years in a row. Canada’s prudent banks, combined with effective regulation and supervision, form a model of stability in the global financial system.



Significant regulatory change continues

During the global financial crisis there was significant turmoil in the global financial system and a number of banks in other countries became insolvent and either failed or received taxpayer-funded bailouts.  However, no Canadian bank was in danger of failing or needed a government bailout.  Canada’s banks were well capitalized, well managed, and well regulated going into the global financial crisis, and remain so to this day.

While banks in Canada are extremely unlikely to fail, each bank has developed “recovery and resolution plans” that would help the bank recover from financial distress or bring about an orderly resolution in the event of their failure.

However, the global financial crisis has led to a series of significant regulatory changes to international banking rules, which are designed to reduce the risk of another financial crisis occurring.  While these rules are set internationally, it is up to domestic regulators to put them in place and enforce them.

There are many important participants – including Canadian policymakers and regulators – involved in shaping and adapting these regulatory changes for Canada’s financial system. [See Table of Main Participants below.]

The most significant changes to global banking rules are in the areas of capital and liquidity.  Both the quantity and quality of capital – which helps banks absorb losses – has been increased.  In addition, new liquidity requirements have been put in place to help ensure that banks can meet their financial obligations, even in times of stress.

Financial markets are globally integrated. So in the end, the aim is that consistent implementation of these regulatory changes in countries around the world will result in a better functioning global financial system. 

Canada’s banks – through and with the CBA – are working closely with domestic and global regulatory organizations to implement all of the international regulatory changes.

Regulatory Changes

The most significant changes to global banking rules have occurred in the area of capital and liquidity.  These changes are described in greater detail below.

1. Capital

A bank holds capital so that the public will have confidence in it to help protect depositors and other stakeholders against losses in the event of a default. Capital is a cushion against bank-specific and market-related activities that could have negative impacts on a bank’s ability to stay solvent.

Basel III capital rules

  • There are several categories of rules related to capital under Basel III. Taken together, these rules require banks to hold enough capital to equal at least 10.5% of their total risk-weighted assets by 2019.

Global and domestic systemically important banks

  • There are currently no Canadian banks designated as “global systemically important banks” (G-SIBs).
  • However, in 2013, the Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions (OSFI) named the six largest banks in Canada as “domestic systemically important banks” (D-SIBs).  As a result, these six banks will be required to hold an additional one per cent of capital as of January 1, 2016, and will be subject to more intense supervision and enhanced disclosure requirements.
  • G-SIBs and D-SIBs are treated differently by OSFI given the potential impacts that a failure of any one of them would have on global and domestic economies.

What is Basel III?

Basel III is a framework that sets out global regulatory rules for bank capital and liquidity. These rules were originally published in December 2010 in response to the global financial crisis and are subject to ongoing review and updates.

The phase-in of Basel III capital rules began in 2013. Canada implemented these changes in January 2013, well ahead of many other countries and well ahead of the Basel III timeline. The phase-in of Basel III’s liquidity rules began in 2015.

Basel III was developed and agreed to by members of the Basel Committee on Banking Supervision. This is a longstanding committee of the Bank for International Settlements (BIS) that is mandated to review and develop banking guidelines and supervisory standards at a global level.

For more information, go to http://www.bis.org/.

Basel III capital rules as they relate to banks in Canada

  • The Capital Adequacy Requirements (CAR) Guideline reflects how Canadian regulators are implementing the Basel III capital rules in Canada. In December 2012, OSFI issued a revised CAR Guideline to incorporate Basel III reforms. Subsequent updates during 2014 were made for purposes of clarification and to consolidate some earlier advisories, and further updates are expected given the pace of regulatory change internationally.
  • Under the CAR Guideline, OSFI already expects banks to meet target capital levels that equal or exceed the 2019 Basel III minimum capital requirements.
  • Under a separate Leverage Requirements Guideline,1 OSFI expects institutions to maintain a leverage ratio that meets or exceeds 3 per cent at all times. OSFI also prescribes authorized leverage ratio requirements for individual institutions.

2. Liquidity

“Liquidity” refers to the ease with which assets can be converted into cash (i.e., liquidated) and sold. For banks, good liquidity is important because it bolsters their resilience to internal and external shocks. 

Basel III liquidity rules

  • The Basel Committee has developed two minimum rules for liquidity – the Liquidity Coverage Ratio (LCR) that has a 30-day horizon, and the Net Stable Funding Ratio (NSFR) that has a time horizon of one year.
  • LCR requirements were confirmed as of January 2013 and will be phased in between 2015 and 2019.2 NSFR requirements were issued in October 2014 and  will be in force by 2018.3
  • These rules are meant to ensure banks have sufficient, high-quality liquid assets to withstand a period of economic stress.

How OSFI is implementing liquidity rules for banks in Canada

  • OSFI issued a revised Liquidity Principles B6 Guideline in February 2012 and a revised Liquidity Adequacy Requirements (LAR) Guideline in May 2014. These guidelines describe how the regulator assesses the strength of a bank’s liquidity risk management framework and whether the bank would have adequate liquidity under stressed conditions.
  • OSFI’s approach is consistent with the Basel Committee’s September 2008 Principles for Sound Liquidity Risk Management and Supervision.

Table of Main Participants

A number of organizations are involved in aspects of the regulatory changes underway. The table outlines the main participants and their role(s) in global regulations as it pertains to banks in Canada.

NAME OF PARTICIPANT ROLE(S) IN REGULATION
Global 
Bank for International Settlements (BIS)Swiss-based organization of which many central banks – including Canada’s – are members. BIS and its committees lead much of the global regulatory work stemming from the global financial crisis. BIS was created in 1930.
www.bis.org
Basel Committee on Banking Supervision (BCBS)Committee of BIS members mandated to review and develop banking guidelines and supervisory standards at a global level. They are the lead drivers of the Basel III changes. Basel Committee members include OSFI and the Bank of Canada. The Basel Committee was established in 1974.
www.bis.org/bcbs
Financial Stability Board (FSB)Global group created by the G20 countries in 2009 to monitor and make recommendations about the global financial system. Canadian FSB members include the Department of Finance, Bank of Canada, and OSFI. FSB sets the policy direction (under the G20) for the Basel Committee.
http://www.financialstabilityboard.org/
Domestic 
Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions (OSFI) The prudential regulator of Canadian banks and other federally regulated financial institutions. Also responsible for implementing Basel Committee principles and guidance in Canada.
www.osfi-bsif.gc.ca
Bank of Canada Canada’s central bank, responsible for setting monetary policy and promoting a stable and efficient financial system.
www.bankofcanada.ca
Department of Finance Responsible for the legislative framework governing banks and other federally regulated financial institutions in Canada.
www.fin.gc.ca
Canada Deposit Insurance Corporation (CDIC) CDIC is a federal Crown corporation created by Parliament in 1967 to protect deposits made with member financial institutions in case of their failure. CDIC insures deposits of up to $100,000.
http://www.cdic.ca/

Fermer

 

 

 


Réglementation bancaire mondiale et banques canadiennes

Dernière modification 11 mai 2016
Pour en savoir plus

En bref

  • Lors de la crise financière mondiale de 2007-2008, les banques canadiennes, contrairement aux banques dans de nombreux autres pays, sont demeurées solides et n’ont pas eu besoin de renflouement.
  • La crise a provoqué une série d’importants changements à la réglementation du secteur bancaire international.  La mise en œuvre de ces changements est en cours.
  • Le Forum économique mondial a placé le système bancaire canadien au premier rang mondial au chapitre de la stabilité pendant huit années consécutives  – un classement qui reconnaît que les banques canadiennes sont bien capitalisées, bien gérées et bien réglementées.
    • Selon 75 % des Canadiens, les banques du pays sont stables et sécuritaires.

Les faits

Les banques canadiennes ont été reconnues comme les plus solides au monde pendant huit années consécutives. Leur prudence, combinée à un environnement réglementaire et de contrôle efficace, en a fait un modèle de stabilité au sein du secteur financier mondial.



Importants changements à la réglementation en cours

La crise financière mondiale a fortement perturbé le système financier mondial. Un certain nombre de banques étrangères, devenues insolvables, ont fait faillite ou ont dû être renflouées aux frais des contribuables. Ceci dit, aucune banque canadienne n’a fait face à la faillite ou eu recours aux deniers publics pour rester en activité. En effet, les banques canadiennes étaient bien réglementées, bien capitalisées et bien gérées au début de la crise, et elles le restent aujourd’hui. 

Bien qu’il soit très peu probable qu’elles fassent faillite, chacune des banques canadiennes a prévu des plans de reprise et de règlement afin de pouvoir se relancer à la suite de difficultés financières ou d’atteindre un règlement ordonné en cas de faillite.

Dans la foulée de la crise, d’importants changements ont été apportés à la réglementation du secteur bancaire international afin de réduire les risques d’une autre crise financière. Les nouvelles règles sont établies au niveau international, mais il revient à chaque autorité territoriale de les mettre en œuvre et de veiller à leur application. 

De nombreux intervenants canadiens, dont des décideurs politiques et des organismes de réglementation,  contribuent à façonner ces changements réglementaires et à les adapter au système financier du Canada. [Voir le tableau « Principaux intervenants » plus loin.]

Les changements les plus importants aux règles bancaires mondiales touchent les domaines des fonds propres et de la liquidité. La quantité et la qualité des fonds propres, qui permettent aux banques d’absorber les pertes, sont désormais plus élevées. En outre, de nouvelles exigences de liquidité ont été instaurées en vue d’aider les banques à honorer leurs obligations financières, même dans les périodes de tension.    

Les marchés financiers étant intégrés à l’échelle mondiale, on espère que la mise en œuvre uniforme de ces changements réglementaires partout dans le monde permettra au système financier mondial de mieux fonctionner. 

Les banques canadiennes – par l’intermédiaire de l’ABC et de concert avec elle – collaborent étroitement avec les organismes de réglementation canadiens et mondiaux pour effectuer la mise en œuvre de l’ensemble des changements réglementaires internationaux. 

Changements réglementaires 

Les changements les plus importants apportés aux règles bancaires mondiales ont visé les domaines des fonds propres et de la liquidité. Les sections suivantes en donnent les détails.  

1. Fonds propres

Une banque conserve des fonds propres afin de renforcer la confiance du public dans sa capacité de protéger ses déposants et ses autres parties prenantes contre tout risque d’insolvabilité découlant de ses propres activités ou de celles du marché.

Règles de Bâle III en matière de fonds propres

  • Il existe plusieurs catégories de règles ayant trait aux fonds propres. Dans leur ensemble, ces règles stipulent que, d’ici 2019, les fonds propres des banques devront atteindre au moins 10,5 % de leurs actifs pondérés des risques.

Banques d'importance systémique nationale et mondiale

  • Actuellement, aucune banque canadienne n’est considérée comme une « banque d’importance systémique mondiale » (BISM).
  • Toutefois, en 2013, le Bureau du surintendant des institutions financières (BSIF) a désigné les six plus grandes banques canadiennes comme « banques d’importance systémique nationale » (BSIN). Ainsi, à compter du 1er janvier 2016, ces six banques devront détenir un pour cent de plus de fonds propres et seront assujetties à un contrôle plus serré et à des exigences de communication plus grandes.
  • Selon le BSIF, les BISM et les BISN sont assujetties à des règles différentes en raison de l’impact que la faillite dans l’une ou l’autre catégorie aurait sur l’économie mondiale et l’économie canadienne.

Qu’est-ce que  
Bâle III ?

Bâle III est un cadre réglementaire qui établit la réglementation mondiale ayant trait aux fonds propres et à la liquidité. D’abord publiées en décembre 2010 dans la foulée de la crise financière mondiale, les règles sont revues et actualisées sur une base continue.

La mise en œuvre graduelle des règles de Bâle III relatives aux fonds propres a commencé en 2013. Le Canada les applique depuis janvier 2013, bien avant bon nombre d’autres pays et très en avance par rapport à l’échéancier fixé. La mise en œuvre graduelle des règles relatives à la liquidité a commencé en 2015. Le dispositif de Bâle III a été conçu par le Comité de Bâle sur le contrôle bancaire. Ce comité de longue date de la Banque des règlements internationaux (BRI) a pour mandat d’établir des lignes directrices et des normes de surveillance pour le secteur bancaire mondial.

Pour de plus amples renseignements, visitez www.bis.org et www.financialstabilityboard.org.

Règles de Bâle III en matière de fonds propres et banques canadiennes

  • Les Normes de fonds propres (NFP) précisent comment les organismes de réglementation canadiens appliquent les règles de Bâle III en matière de fonds propres au Canada. En décembre 2012, le BSIF a publié une version révisée des NFP, afin d’y inclure les réformes de Bâle III. Des mises à jour ont été faites en 2014 en vue de clarifier et de consolider des règles précédentes. D’autres mises à jour sont prévues, étant donné la vitesse à laquelle les changements réglementaires internationaux sont apportés. 
  • En vertu des NFP, le BSIF s’attend à ce que les banques conservent des fonds propres dont le montant est égal ou supérieur aux exigences minimales du dispositif de Bâle III.
  • Conformément à la Ligne directrice sur les exigences de levier1, le BSIF s’attend à ce que les institutions bancaires maintiennent leur ratio de levier qui, en tout temps, doit être équivalent ou supérieur à 3 %. Par ailleurs, le BSIF prescrit des exigences de ratio de levier autorisé individuelles, par institution.  

2. Liquidité

Par « liquidité », on entend la facilité avec laquelle un actif peut être converti en espèces (donc, liquidé) par la vente. Les banques doivent maintenir un niveau de liquidité approprié afin de renforcer leur résistance aux chocs internes et externes.

Règles de Bâle III en matière de liquidité

  • Le Comité de Bâle a établi deux règles touchant la liquidité : le ratio de liquidité à court terme (Liquidity Coverage Ratio, LCR) dont l’horizon est de 30 jours, et le ratio de liquidité à long terme (Net Stable Funding Ratio, NSFR) dont la protection s’étend sur un an.
  • La règle du LCR, confirmée en janvier 2013, sera graduellement mise en œuvre entre 2015 et 20192. Les exigences du NSFR ont été communiquées en octobre 2014 et seront en vigueur d’ici 20183.
  • Ces règles veillent à ce que les banques détiennent suffisamment d’actifs liquides de haute qualité pour résister à une période de pénurie de financement.

Comment le BSIF applique les règles en matière de liquidité aux banques canadiennes

  • En février 2012, le BSIF a publié une mise à jour de la Ligne directrice B-6 « Liquidités », suivie, en mai 2014, de la Ligne directrice sur les normes de liquidité. Ces normes décrivent comment l’organisme évalue l’efficacité du programme de gestion du risque de liquidité d’une banque et détermine si ledit programme génère des formes de liquidité suffisantes, advenant une conjoncture difficile. 
  • La démarche du BSIF est conforme aux Principes de saine gestion et de surveillance du risque de liquidité du Comité de Bâle, publiés en septembre 2008.

Principaux intervenants

Un certain nombre d’organismes participent à la réforme réglementaire en cours. Le tableau suivant présente les principaux intervenants et leur rôle dans l’établissement des règles qui touchent les banques au Canada.

INTERVENANT RÔLE
Échelle mondiale 
Banque des règlements internationaux (BRI)

Organisme établi en Suisse dont sont membre de nombreuses banques centrales, y compris la Banque du Canada. Une grande partie de la réforme réglementaire mondiale découlant de la crise financière mondiale est menée par la BRI et ses comités. La BRI a été créée en 1930.
www.bis.org

Comité de Bâle sur le contrôle bancaire (Comité de Bâle)

Composé de membres de la BRI, dont le BSIF et la Banque du Canada, le Comité a pour mandat d’établir des lignes directrices et des normes de surveillance pour le secteur bancaire mondial. Établi en 1974, le Comité de Bâle est le principal moteur des changements de
Bâle III.
www.bis.org/bcbs

Conseil de stabilité financière (CSF)

Groupe mondial créé en 2009 par les pays du G20 pour exercer une surveillance prudentielle sur le système financier mondial et pour faire des recommandations à son sujet. Les membres canadiens du CSF comprennent le ministère des Finances, la Banque du Canada et le BSIF. Le CSF établit l’orientation politique (sous la supervision du G20) du Comité de Bâle.
www.financialstabilityboard.org

Canada 
Bureau du surintendant des institutions financières (BSIF)

Organisme prudentiel de réglementation des banques canadiennes et des autres institutions financières sous réglementation fédérale. Le BSIF est également chargé de l’application et du soutien des principes de Bâle au Canada.
www.osfi-bsif.gc.ca

Banque du Canada

Banque centrale du Canada, responsable de l’établissement de la politique monétaire et du maintien d’un système financier stable et efficient.
www.bankofcanada.ca

Ministère des Finances

Ministère responsable de l’encadrement législatif des banques et des autres institutions sous réglementation fédérale au Canada.
www.fin.gc.ca

Société d'assurance-dépôts du Canada (SADC)

La SADC est une société d’État créée en 1967 pour protéger les dépôts confiés aux institutions financières membres en cas d’insolvabilité de l’institution. La SADC assure les dépôts jusqu’à concurrence de 100 000 $.
www.cdic.ca