Close

 

 

 


Small and Medium Sized Enterprises: Lending and More

Last modified: 06 January 2014
For more information:

Fast facts

  • Banks provide financing to more than 1.6 million SMEs
  • 78 per cent of SMEs have a positive relationship with their main financial institution
  • 14 per cent of SME authorized financing from banks goes to the agriculture industry
  • As of June 2013, Canada's banks authorized more than $191 billion in credit to SMEs across the country

The bottom line

Banks play an essential role in the business operations of small- and medium-sized enterprises (SMEs), meeting their diverse financial needs to drive innovation, development and growth.



The majority of bank business customers are small and medium-sized businesses and banks work hard to meet the needs of this market – one that is increasingly competitive, diverse and technologically savvy. In fact, all banks have dedicated small business departments to help their SME customers.

What defines an SME?

The CBA defines a small- and medium-sized enterprise (SME) as having authorized borrowing under $5 million and defines small businesses as having authorized borrowing under $1 million.

Lending to SMEs

Canadian SMEs seeking credit enjoy a very competitive marketplace, with many different financing firms competing for their business. According to an Industry Canada survey, domestic and foreign banks were the main providers of external financing to 56 per cent of SMEs in 2011.1

Canadian SMEs seeking credit enjoy a very competitive marketplace, with many different financing firms competing for their business. Throughout changing economic and business cycles, banks have continued to lend to credit worthy businesses, providing a range of credit products including loans and lines of credit. Banks provide a variety of short-term lending options, including overdraft protection, credit card and lines of credit. SMEs can also arrange a variety of longer-term financing solutions through their banks such as term loans, mortgages, and leasing. Banks also participate in the federal government’s Canada Small Business Financing Program (CSBFP). The government shares risk with lenders through this program, which helps stimulate job and wealth creation. Small businesses or start-ups operating for profit in Canada with gross annual revenues of $5 million or less are eligible for CSBFP loans.

SMEs have come to rely on readily accessible finance to help meet their business needs

  • As of June 2013, Canada's domestic banks authorized more than $191 billion in credit to SMEs across the country. Authorized lending to SMEs has increased by almost 19 per cent, or $30.6 billion, since the beginning of 2008.2
  • Approval rates are quite high: Almost 90 per cent of all SMEs that applied for a bank loan were approved.3
  • Obtaining financing is the least problematic external obstacle to growth. SMEs are more concerned about the rising costs of managing their businesses, fluctuations in demand for products and services, and rising competition among other external obstacles.4
  • For those that did not seek debt financing, 88 per cent of SMEs said they did not need it. Only three per cent said that it was because they thought they would be turned down and only one per cent thought the cost of financing was too high.5

Banks are also offering more flexible products and simplifying the credit application process, especially for smaller amounts of credit, making it easier to access financing.

More than just lending

While lending is an important part of the banking relationship, SMEs use banks for a variety of different financial needs and banking solutions. Banks work day in and day out to provide advice and develop innovative solutions for their SME clients. In fact, when choosing a financial institution, 35 per cent based their choice on credit services but 52 per cent chose their institution for non-credit banking services.6

Bankers in communities across the country provide financing to more than 1.6 million SME owners. SMEs are demanding value and quality service. To meet this demand, banks provide a variety of products and services in addition to lending. These banking solutions include:

  • Business chequing and saving accounts, in both Canadian and foreign dollar denominations;
  • Tax payment services;
  • Foreign exchange services;
  • Succession and investment planning;
  • Electronic fund transfers;
  • On-line and telephone banking;
  • Payroll and filing services; and,
  • Coaching podcasts, booklets and seminars.

SMEs and bank relationships

The relationship is what matters and when we asked SME owners about their relationship with their bank, we found that:

  • 78 per cent of SMEs owners say they have a positive relationship with their main financial institution.7
  • Small business owners tend to be loyal: half of survey respondents have had a business relationship with their main financial institution for more than 10 years and, of those, 22 per cent have for more than 20 years.8
  • SME owners identified the most important factors in their relations with their bank as: having a face-to face relationship, providing low priced products and services, and providing access to credit.

Strong ties to agriculture

Banks in Canada also have a longstanding business relationship with farmers and agricultural customers and these strong relationships have helped banks work with their customers through significant challenges. In the past decade alone, farmers have had to confront BSE, avian influenza, drought, floods, the H1N1 virus and country of origin labelling (COOL). Banks have been there for their clients, working with them on an individual, case-by-case basis to assess their unique needs and to develop solutions. Approximately 14 per cent of SME authorized financing from banks goes to the agriculture industry and authorized financing to agriculture SMEs make up over 70 per cent of the bank’s agricultural portfolio.9




Related content

Fermer

 

 

 


Petites et moyennes entreprises : du crédit et bien plus

Dernière modification 06 janvier 2014
Pour en savoir plus

En bref

  • Les banques du Canada fournissent du financement à plus de 1,6 million de petites et moyennes entreprises.
  • 78 % des PME maintiennent une relation positive avec leur principale institution financière.
  • 14 % du financement octroyé par les banques aux PME est alloué au secteur agricole.
  • Selon les chiffres de juin 2013, les banques du Canada ont autorisé l’octroi de près de 191 milliards de dollars en crédit aux PME à travers le pays.

Les faits

Les banques jouent un rôle essentiel dans les activités des petites et moyennes entreprises, répondant à leurs divers besoins financiers dans la perspective de favoriser l’innovation, le développement et la croissance.



La majorité des clients d’affaires des banques étant des petites et moyennes entreprises (PME), les banques ne ménagent aucun effort pour répondre aux besoins d’un marché des PME de plus en plus concurrentiel, diversifié, et mieux versé dans les outils technologiques. En effet, toutes les banques ont prévu des services distincts, voués aux besoins des PME.

Qu’entend-on par PME?

Selon l’ABC, une PME est une entreprise qui a une limite d’emprunt autorisée inférieure à cinq millions de dollars et une petite entreprise a une limite de crédit de un million de dollars.

Prêter aux PME

Avec les nombreuses sociétés de financement qui se livrent concurrence, les PME canadiennes désireuses d’obtenir du crédit ont l’avantage d’un marché hautement concurrentiel. Selon une enquête d’Industrie Canada, les banques canadiennes et étrangères ont fourni 56 % du financement externe des PME en 20111.

Tout au long des cycles économiques et commerciaux en évolution, les banques ont continué à accorder du crédit aux entreprises solvables, leur offrant un éventail de produits, notamment les prêts et les marges de crédit. Les banques offrent une variété de solutions de prêt à court, notamment les découverts, les cartes de crédit et les marges de crédit. Les PME peuvent aussi mettre en place diverses solutions de financement à long terme, comme les prêts à terme, les prêts hypothécaires et le crédit-bail. Par ailleurs, les banques donnent aussi accès à des prêts dans le cadre d’un programme du gouvernement fédéral appelé Programme de financement des petites entreprises du Canada. Le gouvernement partage avec les prêteurs les risques inhérents à ce programme qui aide à stimuler la création d’emploi et de richesse. Ce programme s’adresse aux petites entreprises existantes ou en démarrage à but lucratif dont le chiffre d'affaires annuel brut est inférieur ou égal à 5 millions de dollars canadiens.

Solutions de financement clé-en-main pour répondre aux besoins des PME

  • Selon les chiffres de juin 2013, les banques du Canada ont autorisé l’octroi de près de 191 milliards de dollars en crédit aux PME à travers le pays. Depuis le début de 2008, les crédits octroyés aux PME ont augmenté d’environ 19 %, se plaçant à 30,6 milliards de dollars2.
  • Les taux d’octroi de crédit sont élevés : près de 90 % des PME qui font une demande de prêt auprès d’une banque sont acceptées3.
  • Obtenir du financement est l’obstacle externe à la croissance le moins problématique pour ces entreprises. Les PME sont davantage préoccupées par des obstacles tels que l’augmentation des coûts de gestion, la fluctuation de la demande pour leurs produits et services, ainsi que la hausse de la concurrence4.
  • Parmi les PME qui n’ont pas fait une demande de prêt, 88 % affirment ne pas en avoir eu besoin. Seulement 3 % ont indiqué comme raison l’impression de ne pas être admissible5.

Par ailleurs, les banques offrent des produits plus souples et facilitent le processus de demande de crédit, surtout pour les faibles montants, ce qui élargit l’accès au financement.

Au-delà du crédit

Bien que l’octroi de prêts représente une importante composante de la relation client, Les PME ont recours aux banques pour divers autres services financiers et solutions bancaires. Les banques ne ménagent aucun effort pour fournir quotidiennement les conseils et les solutions novatrices à leur clientèle des PME. En effet, moment de choisir une institution financière, 35 % ont fait leur choix en tenant compte des services de crédit et 52 % ont basé leur décision sur d’autres critères6.

Dans les collectivités à travers le pays, les banques travaillent avec plus de 1,6 million de propriétaires de PME pour combler leurs divers besoins bancaires et commerciaux. Les PME exigent des services de qualité, à valeur ajoutée. Afin de répondre à cette demande, les banques offrent une variété de produits et de services. En voici quelques exemples :

  • Comptes de chèques et d’épargne commerciaux, en dollar canadien et en monnaie étrangère
  • Services de paiement de l’impôt
  • Opérations de change
  • Planification successorale pour l’entreprise
  • Transferts de fonds électroniques
  • Services bancaires en ligne et téléphoniques
  • Services de rémunération et de déclaration
  • Baladodiffusions, brochures et séminaires de formation

PME et relations bancaires

Le facteur relationnel est ce qui importe. Lorsqu’on demande aux propriétaires de PME de relater leurs expériences, on découvre ce qui suit :

  • 78 % des propriétaires de PME déclarent avoir une relation positive avec leur principale institution financière7.
  • La fidélité caractérise les propriétaires de petites entreprises : la moitié des répondants maintiennent une relation d’affaires avec leur principale institution financière depuis plus de 10 ans; dans ce groupe, 22 % ont une relation de plus de 20 ans8.
  • Voici les facteurs les plus importants dans une relation bancaire, selon les propriétaires de PME : contact personnel, produits et services à moindre prix et accès au crédit.

Relations solides avec le secteur agricole

Au Canada, les banques entretiennent également des relations de longue date avec les clients du domaine agricole. Ces relations solides ont aidé les banques à épauler leurs clients face à des défis non négligeables. Si l’on considère seulement la dernière décennie, les agriculteurs ont dû composer avec une myriade de problèmes : maladie de la vache folle, grippe aviaire, sécheresse, inondations, virus H1N1 et étiquetage du pays d’origine. Les banques ont soutenu leurs clients durant ces périodes difficiles, travaillant avec eux sur une base individuelle, selon le cas, pour évaluer leurs besoins uniques et élaborer des solutions. Environ 14 % du financement octroyé par les banques aux PME est alloué au secteur agricole. Le financement accordé aux PME agricoles représente 70 % du portefeuille des banques dans ce secteur9.



1 Enquête sur le financement et la croissance des petites et moyennes entreprises 2011 (tableaux de données). Publiée le 18 février 2013. Tableau 2. Taux combiné des banques à charte canadiennes, des banques étrangères et des filiales de banques étrangères
2 Rapport sur le crédit aux entreprises – ABC, juin 2013, chiffres représentant neuf banques
3 Idem
4 Enquête sur le financement et la croissance des petites et moyennes entreprises 2011 (tableaux de données). Publiée le 18 février 2013. Tableau 20.
5 Idem
6 Résultats de l’enquête sur l’évaluation de la relation des PME avec les IF, The Strategic Counsel, août 2009
7 Idem
8 Idem
9 Rapport sur le crédit aux entreprises – ABC, juin 2013, chiffres représentant neuf banques

Contenu connexe