E-mail Fraud/Phishing

Last modified: 26 February 2015

E-mail fraud — or “phishing” or “brand spoofing” as it is also called — are attempts to get you to volunteer your personal information to criminals or to install malware on your computer.  Criminals attempt to fool you by using fraudulent e-mail messages and websites that look like they are from a legitimate company, such as a bank, credit card company, online retailer or government agency. The e-mail you receive may look real, with company logos, links and branding, but beware — you may have actually received this spam or mass e-mail from a criminal. The fraudsters will cast a wide net and send the spam e-mail to thousands of people at once, whether or not they are a customer of the organization, to “phish" for personal information. 

How to identify a phishing e-mail 

So, how do you know if the e-mail you received is fraudulent? Here are a few things you should know: 

  • Your bank will never send you an e-mail, or call you on the phone, asking you to disclose personal information such as your credit card number, online banking password or your mother’s maiden name.  They already have that information.
  • Be suspicious of unsolicited e-mails that have a sense of urgency and warnings that your accounts will be closed or your access limited if you don’t reply. 
  • Does the e-mail look professional? While some fraudulent e-mails may look professional at first glance, if you look more closely you may notice spelling and grammatical errors, unusual language or branding that isn’t quite right. 
  • Fraudulent e-mails may not be personalized and instead, are addressed in general terms, such as "Dear valued customer." 
  • If you receive an e-mail notifying you that an e-mail money transfer is being sent from a person you don't know, delete the e-mail as it is likely fraudulent.

Below are examples of  recent phishing e-mails. 

Apple phishing email as posted by Intego 

CRA Phishing email 

What banks are doing to protect you from phishing 

It is important to remember that fraudulent e-mails sent out by criminals may look like they come from banks, but they are not connected with banks at all. Banks, however, take extensive steps to protect your personal information entrusted to them and to help you protect it as well. 

The banks have teams of security experts working behind the scenes to find these fraudulent websites and shut them down as soon as they are detected to prevent any of their customers from becoming victims of fraud.  

Consumer education is also one of the best ways to stop phishing and prevent customers from inadvertently disclosing their personal information. Most banks have information available on their websites providing practical tips on how to protect yourself and your money. Click the links below to be connected to the phishing pages on individual bank websites. 

How to avoid e-mail fraud 

There are some simple steps you can take to avoid becoming the victim of phishing and e-mail fraud: 

  • Be skeptical. Fraudulent e-mails can look like they come from a real bank e-mail address. If you have any doubts about an e-mail that looks like it is from your bank or a reputable company, contact them before responding to ensure that it is legitimate. But don’t use the toll-free number, e-mail address or website address provided in the e-mail: they may link you to the criminals rather than the bank. Use a phone number, e-mail address or website address that you know is correct. 
  • Never send personal and/or financial information by e-mail. 
  • Always enter your bank’s website using the website address (URL) that you know is accurate. Contact your local bank to get the correct website address if you're unsure. 
  • Regularly review your bank and credit card statements to ensure that all transactions are authorized. Also check your credit report at least once a year by contacting credit reporting agencies Equifax Canada and TransUnion Canada. 
  • Check the domain name shown as the link in the e-mail. When you click the link, if it does not match the name that appears in the browser at the top of the screen, then it may be a fraudulent website. 
  • On the Internet, whenever entering personal information, ensure that you are using a secure website. Look for “https://” rather than just “http://” in the address bar of your Web browser as well as a closed padlock in the bottom right corner of your browser. 
  • Make sure that your home computer is protected. Install anti-spam, anti-spyware and anti-virus software and make sure they are always up-to-date. You should also install a personal firewall to act as a barrier to viruses and other external attacks and check for operating system patches and upgrades on a regular basis.

What should you do if you receive a fraudulent e-mail? 

If you receive a phishing e-mail, there are two things you should do: report it and delete it. 

Report it

By reporting any fraudulent e-mails you receive to the bank or other company being spoofed, you can help us prevent other people from falling for e-mail fraud. Click the links below to find out how to report e-mail fraud to a bank. 

Delete it

The best way to protect yourself from e-mail fraud is to recognize it for what it is: a scam. Once you’ve reported the fraudulent e-mail, delete it. Do not reply or click on any link in the e-mail. 

If you think you have provided your personal information in response to a fraudulent e-mail, you should immediately report it to your bank and to your local police.

External links

Did you know?

Your Money LogoThe CBA offers a free fraud prevention seminar for seniors as part of its Your Money Seniors financial literacy seminar program.

Find out more and request a seminar for your seniors’ group at


Related content

Fermer

 

 

 


Hameçonnage/Fraude par courriel

Dernière modification 07 janvier 2016

La fraude par courriel, qu’on appelle également « hameçonnage » ou « usurpation de marque », se résume à une tentative par un criminel de vous faire révéler vos renseignements personnels ou installer un maliciel sur votre ordinateur. Les criminels tentent de vous leurrer au moyen de courriels et de sites Web frauduleux qui ressemblent à ceux d’une entreprise légitime, comme une banque, une société émettrice de carte de crédit, un détaillant en ligne ou un organisme gouvernemental. Le courriel que vous recevez semble authentique, comporte un logo et un nom d'entreprise. Mais, méfiez-vous. Vous venez peut-être de recevoir ce pourriel ou ce polluriel d’un criminel. Les fraudeurs s’attaquent à des milliers de personnes à la fois, qu’elles soient ou non clientes de l’entreprise, afin d’obtenir des renseignements personnels. 

Comment reconnaître un courriel hameçon 

Comment savoir si le courriel que vous avez reçu est frauduleux? Voici quelques points à retenir : 

  • Votre banque ne vous enverra jamais de courriel ni ne vous téléphonera pour vous demander de divulguer des renseignements personnels, comme un numéro de carte de crédit, le mot de passe pour vos opérations bancaires ou le nom de fille de votre mère. La banque dispose déjà de cette information.
  • Méfiez-vous des courriels non sollicités qui demandent une réponse urgente et qui menacent de fermer vos comptes ou d’en limiter l'accès si vous ne répondez pas. 
  • Le courriel semble-t-il professionnel? Bien que certains courriels frauduleux paraissent professionnels à première vue, si vous les lisez plus attentivement, vous remarquerez des fautes d'orthographe ou de grammaire, un vocabulaire ou un ton particulier qui cloche. 
  • Les courriels frauduleux ne sont pas nécessairement personnalisés et peuvent plutôt être adressés en termes généraux, tels que « Cher client ». 
  • Si vous recevez un courriel vous avisant que vous recevrez un transfert de fonds de la part d’une personne que vous ne connaissez pas, supprimez-le, car il est probablement frauduleux. 

Voici deux exemples de courriels hameçons. 

hameconnage 

hameconnage 

Ce que font les banques pour vous protéger contre l’hameçonnage 

Il est important de vous rappeler que les courriels frauduleux envoyés par des criminels peuvent sembler provenir des banques, mais en réalité, ils n'ont absolument rien à voir avec elles. En outre, les banques prennent d'importantes mesures pour protéger les renseignements personnels que vous leur confiez et pour vous aider à les protéger. 

Les banques ont formé des équipes d’experts qui travaillent dans les coulisses afin de trouver les sites Web frauduleux et de les fermer aussitôt détectés, protégeant ainsi leurs clients contre la fraude. 

La sensibilisation des consommateurs au phénomène de la fraude par courriel est également l’un des meilleurs moyens de mettre fin à cette pratique et d'éviter que des clients révèlent par inadvertance leurs renseignements personnels. La plupart des banques présentent de l'information à ce sujet sur leurs sites Web et procurent des conseils pratiques sur la façon de vous protéger et de protéger votre argent. Cliquez sur le lien de votre banque pour accéder à sa page Web traitant d’hameçonnage.

Comment éviter la fraude par courriel 

fraude par courriel infographicAux efforts des banques s’ajoutent quelques mesures simples à prendre pour éviter d'être victime d’hameçonnage et de fraude par courriel : 

  • Soyez sceptique. Les courriels frauduleux peuvent donner l’impression qu’ils proviennent de l'adresse électronique d'une vraie banque. Si vous avez des doutes quant à un courriel qui semble provenir de votre banque ou d'une entreprise connue, communiquez avec elle avant d’y répondre afin de vous assurer que le message est légitime. Mais n’utilisez pas le numéro sans frais ni l'adresse électronique ou celle du site Web indiqués dans le courriel : ils vous mettront probablement en contact avec les criminels plutôt qu'avec la banque. Utilisez un numéro de téléphone, une adresse électronique ou une adresse Internet dont vous êtes certain. 
  • N’envoyez jamais de renseignements personnels ou financiers par courriel. 
  • Accédez toujours au site Web de votre banque en utilisant l’adresse (URL) du site Web que vous savez être correcte. En cas de doute, communiquez avec votre banque pour obtenir cette adresse. 
  • Examinez régulièrement vos relevés bancaires et de carte de crédit pour vous assurer que toutes les transactions sont autorisées. Vérifiez aussi votre rapport de crédit au moins une fois l’an en communiquant avec les agences d’évaluation du crédit, soit Equifax Canada et TransUnion Canada. 
  • Vérifiez le nom de domaine du lien au courriel. Cliquez sur le lien. S’il ne correspond pas au nom qui apparaît sur le navigateur, dans le haut de l’écran, il se peut que ce soit un site Web frauduleux. 
  • Lorsque vous entrez des renseignements personnels dans Internet, assurez-vous que le site est sécurisé. Vérifiez si l’adresse commence par « https:// » plutôt que simplement par « http:// » dans la barre d’adresse de votre navigateur Web. Assurez-vous aussi de la présence d’un cadenas fermé dans le coin inférieur droit de votre navigateur. 
  • Assurez-vous que votre ordinateur familial est protégé. Installez des logiciels antipourriel, bloqueurs d’espions et antivirus et faites toujours les mises à jour. Vous devriez installer également un pare-feu qui servira de barrière aux virus et aux autres attaques de l'extérieur. Vérifiez les rustines du système d’exploitation et mettez-le à jour régulièrement.

Que faire si vous recevez un courriel frauduleux? 

Si vous recevez un courriel hameçon, vous devrez faire deux choses : le signaler et le supprimer. 

Le signaler

En signalant tous les courriels frauduleux que vous recevez de la banque ou de l'entreprise dont le nom est usurpé, vous nous aiderez à éviter que d'autres personnes soient victimes d'une fraude par courriel.

Le supprimer

La meilleure façon de vous protéger contre la fraude par courriel est de reconnaître le message pour ce qu'il est : une escroquerie. Après avoir signalé le courriel frauduleux, supprimez-le. N’y répondez pas ni ne cliquez sur aucun lien dans le courriel. 

Si vous pensez avoir transmis des renseignements personnels en réponse à un courriel frauduleux, vous devez immédiatement le signaler à votre banque et à la police de votre municipalité.

Liens externes

Le saviez-vous?

Your Money LogoL’ABC a prévu un module sur la prévention de la fraude dans son programme gratuit de littératie financière Votre Argent-Aînés.

Pour s’informer et réserver un séminaire : www.votreargent.cba.ca/seniors

 

Contenu connexe