Close

 

 

 


Mortgage Wise

Last modified: 16 May 2016

Buying a home is more than just a financial commitment. It involves choosing a neighbourhood and community that is right for you. Home ownership may be the biggest investment you’ll ever make, so approach the housing market with a firm understanding of the buying process, your objectives and current market trends.

What can you afford?

Before looking for a home, determine what you can afford. Closely examine your finances. It is important that you consider how much you can afford as a down payment, the total cost of owning and maintaining a home, and whether you will be able to manage your other living expenses as well.

GDS and TDS Ratio

Two simple calculations can help you estimate how much of your income can be allocated to monthly housing costs: the Gross Debt Service Ratio (GDS) and the Total Debt Service Ratio (TDS).

GDS Ratio: Most lenders recommend that you spend no more than 32 per cent of your gross monthly income (before tax) on combined housing costs – monthly mortgage principal and interest, taxes, utility costs and if applicable, 50 per cent of condominium fees.

TDS Ratio: According to most lenders, you should spend no more than 40 per cent of your gross monthly income to service your mortgage and cover other debts and obligations, such as vehicle payments. Keep in mind that these numbers are maximums. Try to keep your housing costs as low as possible for a more affordable lifestyle.

The federal Home Buyers Plan (HBP)

This plan allows first-time home buyers to withdraw up to $25,000 per person from their Registered Retirement Savings Plans (RRSP), without tax liability, to buy a home in Canada. You don’t have to start paying back your RRSP until two years after the purchase of the home. Before cashing in your RRSP to buy a home, weigh the pros and cons carefully. Consider the details of the Home Buyers Plan.

To be eligible for the Home Buyers Plan:

  • You need a written agreement to buy or build a home
  • You intend to occupy the home as your principal residence
  • You are a first time homebuyer
  • Your HBP balance on January 1 of the year you withdraw has to be zero

Talk to a financial advisor. To find out more about this program contact the Canada Revenue Agency.

Extra costs

There is more to buying a home than the down payment and mortgage. You need to budget another 1.5 per cent to 4 per cent of the price of your home for extras associated with the original purchase. Some of these costs include the survey fee, home inspection cost, mortgage default insurance (if applicable), title insurance, property insurance, land registration fees, land transfer tax, legal fees, goods and services tax, moving expenses and closing costs.

Credit report

Before making an offer on a house, you may want to review your credit profile to verify that the information your lender sees is accurate and up-to-date. A credit report gives a snapshot of your financial history, such as your previous and current debts and whether or not you’ve had any problems paying off those debts. Many real estate agents recommend that buyers check their credit report before shopping around for a house.  You can order your credit reports from Equifax and TransUnion.

Pre-approval

Know how much you can afford to pay. Ask for a “pre-approval” from a financial institution. To do this you need to submit your financial information to a potential lender, who then approves you for a predetermined mortgage amount. The pre-approval may guarantee the interest rate for a mortgage taken out during a set period.

Down payment

A down payment is the initial amount of money put towards buying a home. Depending on the type of mortgage, down payments generally range from 5 per cent to 20 per cent of the purchase price for first-time buyers. Keep in mind that the higher your down payment, the lower the interest costs over the life of the mortgage.

Mortgage loan insurance

Mortgages with less than a 20 per cent down payment, known as a high-ratio mortgage, are required by law to be insured against default. If you default on your mortgage, mortgage loan insurance pays back the mortgage lender. Mortgage loan insurance requires the payment of a premium, which is usually added to the amount of your mortgage – another good reason to make a larger down payment.

Interest on mortgage

Interest is the amount added to the amount borrowed to compensate the lender for the use of their money. It is represented as an annual percentage rate applicable to the mortgage. Interest is usually paid to the lender in regular payments along with the repayment of the principal (loan amount).

Example of Interest on Mortgage (Applied Monthly)

Amount to borrow

$250,000

$250,000

$250,000

Interest rate

7%

7%

7%

Years to repay

15

25

35

Payment

$2,233.12

$1751.04

$1,579.66

Total yearly payments

$26,797.44

$21,012.48

$18,955.92

Cost of borrowing

$151,961.60

$275,312

$413,457.20

Getting your mortgage

When shopping for a mortgage, keep your goals and needs in mind. There are many options and a mortgage can be customized to meet your own circumstances.

Open vs. closed mortgage

An open mortgage allows you to pay off as much of your debt as you wish, whenever you want, without being

charged a pre-payment fee. This option allows for flexibility, but interest rates are higher on open mortgages. Closed mortgages have a set term and fixed conditions. With a closed mortgage, you may be able to make some prepayments each year without penalty, and, for agreeing to keep the mortgage for the full term, you may get a more favorable interest rate.

Fixed rate vs. variable rate

A fixed rate mortgage has a set interest rate for the term of the mortgage; the rate does not fluctuate with market changes. With a variable rate mortgage, the interest rate rises and falls from time to time as market rates change.

Other types of mortgages

Second mortgages: A second mortgage is granted when there is already another mortgage registered against your property. If you default and the property is sold, the second mortgage is paid only after the first mortgage has been repaid.  Given the higher risk, second mortgage interest rates are generally higher than those for first mortgages.

Leasehold mortgage: The leasehold mortgage is a mortgage on a home where the land is leased rather than owned. These mortgages must be amortized over a period that is shorter than the length of the land lease.

Collateral mortgage: A mortgage on real estate which is used as security for a loan or line of credit. The funds borrowed can be used to buy a property, or for other purposes such as furniture or home renovations.

Bridge financing: This refers to a special short-term loan needed to cover the time between completing the purchase of a property and finalizing the arrangements to pay.  It is usually used when you are taking possession of the property you are purchasing before completing the sale of an existing property.

Vendor take-back mortgage: The seller offers to lend funds to the buyer for the purchase of the property. The buyer repays the loan directly to the seller at an agreed-upon interest rate.  

Paying off your mortgage

The mortgage amortization period is the number of years it takes to repay the mortgage in full. If your mortgage amortization period is 25 years, it will take 25 years to repay your mortgage. The longer the amortization period, the more you pay in interest.

Tips for paying off your mortgage

  • Contribute as much to a down payment as you can.
  • Make your payments as frequently as possible. Paying weekly or biweekly instead of monthly can save you money over time.
  • Increase your payment amounts. By doing so, you can reduce the length of the amortization period and pay less interest.
  • Take advantage of any annual pre-payment privileges to pay a lump sum on your principal.
  • Choose the shortest possible amortization period and try to reduce it every time you renew your mortgage.
  • The most important consideration in determining the terms for your mortgage should be your monthly household budget.

Prepayment charges

When you sign a mortgage agreement, you are signing a contract with the lender agreeing to pay the amount borrowed at a specified interest rate over the term, or duration, of your mortgage. You may want to break the mortgage contract if you sell your home; if you choose to renegotiate your mortgage to take advantage of lower interest rates; or if you have an opportunity to pay off your mortgage in full early, before the term ends.  If you break your contract, your lender will likely charge a prepayment charge to compensate it for the loss of interest and other costs the lender incurs to reinvest the funds.

Information about the prepayment charge  is outlined in your mortgage agreement and is typically the greater of three months’ interest, or the interest rate differential (IRD). The IRD is the difference between the interest rate on your mortgage contract compared to the rate at which the lending institution can re-lend the money for the remaining term of your mortgage. Your mortgage agreement will tell you how prepayment charges are calculated for your mortgage and will give you a formula to estimate what your prepayment charge would be.  For a more exact estimate, call your lender. Please note that any estimate that your lender provides is only accurate at that time. A day or a week later, the variables used to calculate that estimate could change.  For example, interest rates could change or the remaining term of the mortgage could be different.  These changes affect the amount of the prepayment charge.  

If you commit to prepay your mortgage and set a date for that prepayment, the lender can then fix the charge so that you avoid any subsequent changes.

Resources

Banks in Canada provide a wealth of information for consumers on home buying and mortgages. Visit their websites to learn more.

Publications

  • Buying a Home
    Canada Mortgage and Housing Corporation
  • All About Mortgages
    Financial Consumer Agency of Canada (FCAC)
    (this is a link to all of the FCAC's mortgage publications)

Related content

Fermer

 

 

 


Une hypothèque à votre mesure

Dernière modification 24 février 2012

Plus qu’un simple engagement financier, l’achat d’une maison implique aussi le choix d’un quartier et d’une collectivité qui vous conviennent. Il représentera peut-être le plus important investissement de votre vie, d’où la pertinence d’aborder le marché de l’habitation en pleine connaissance du processus d’achat, de vos objectifs et des tendances actuelles du marché.

Quel prix pouvez-vous payer?

Avant de chercher une maison, déterminez le prix qu’il vous est possible de payer. Examinez attentivement vos finances. Il importe d’évaluer ce que vous pouvez déposer en mise de fonds, le coût total de l’achat et du maintien d’une demeure et si vous serez en mesure de gérer vos autres frais de subsistance.

Indices ABD et ATD

Deux calculs simples peuvent vous aider à évaluer le pourcentage de votre revenu que vous pouvez consacrer aux mensualités liées à la maison : l’amortissement brut de la dette (ABD) et l’amortissement total de la dette (ATD).

L’indice ABD : La plupart des prêteurs recommandent de ne pas consacrer plus de 32 % de son revenu mensuel brut (avant impôts) aux paiements à l’habitation – capital et intérêt, taxes, services publics et, le cas échéant, 50 % des frais de copropriété.

L’indice ATD : La plupart des prêteurs recommandent de ne pas dépenser plus de 40 % du revenu mensuel brut au remboursement d’un prêt hypothécaire et de toutes les autres dettes et obligations, comme un prêt auto. N’oubliez pas que ces chiffres sont des maximums. Tentez de maintenir vos coûts liés à l’habitation au niveau le plus bas possible pour avoir un mode de vie plus abordable.

Le Régime d’accession à la propriété (RAP) fédéral

Offert aux acheteurs d’une première maison, ce régime leur permet de retirer de leur régime enregistré d’épargne retraite (REER), en franchise d’impôt, jusqu’à concurrence de 25 000 $ par personne pour acheter une maison au Canada. Vous devrez commencer à restituer ces fonds à votre REER seulement deux ans après l’achat de l’habitation. Avant de retirer des fonds de votre REER pour acheter une maison, examinez attentivement les avantages et les inconvénients, et familiarisez vous avec les détails du RAP.

Pour être admissible au RAP :

  • Vous devez signer une entente écrite pour acheter ou construire une habitation.
  • Vous devez avoir l’intention d’en faire votre résidence principale.
  • Il doit s’agir pour vous de l’achat d’une première résidence.
  • Le solde de votre RAP le 1er janvier de l’année du retrait doit être nul.

Parlez-en à un conseiller financier. Pour en savoir davantage sur ce programme, communiquez avec l’Agence du revenu du Canada.

Coûts supplémentaires

Les frais associés à l’achat d’une maison ne se limitent pas à la mise de fonds et au prêt hypothécaire. Il vous faut prévoir entre 1,5 % et 4 % du prix de la maison pour couvrir les frais associés à l’achat initial, tels que les frais d’arpentage et d’inspection, l’assurance prêt hypothécaire (s’il y a lieu), l’assurance de titres, l’assurance sur les biens, les frais d’enregistrement, les droits de mutation, les frais juridiques, les taxes sur les biens et les services, les frais de déménagement et les rajustements.

Rapport de solvabilité

Avant de faire une offre sur une maison, il serait bon de passer en revue votre dossier de crédit et de vous assurer que tout l’information que votre prêteur verra est exacte et à jour. Le dossier de crédit contient vos antécédents financiers, et renferme l’information sur vos dettes passées et actuelles ainsi que tout problème que vous auriez eu à rembourser ces obligations. De nombreux agents immobiliers conseillent aux acheteurs de vérifier leur rapport de solvabilité avant d’entreprendre la recherche d’une maison. Vous pouvez obtenir votre rapport auprès de Equifax et de TransUnion.

Prêt hypothécaire préétabli

Désirez-vous savoir combien vous pouvez raisonnablement emprunter? Demandez à une institution financière de vous donner une préautorisation. Vous devez alors fournir vos données financières au prêteur potentiel, qui autorise un montant maximal pour votre prêt hypothécaire. Il est possible que le taux d’intérêt du prêt hypothécaire préétabli soit garanti durant une période déterminée.

Mise de fonds

Une mise de fonds est le versement initial effectué pour l’achat d’une maison. Selon le type d’hypothèque, la mise de fonds s’établit généralement entre 5 % et 25 % du prix d’achat pour les acquéreurs d’une première maison. N’oubliez pas que plus votre mise de fonds est élevée, moins vous paierez d’intérêt pendant la durée de votre prêt hypothécaire.

Assurance prêt hypothécaire

Conformément à la loi, le prêt hypothécaire avec une mise de fonds inférieure à 20 %, appelé prêt hypothécaire à faible mise de fonds, doit être assuré contre les défauts de paiement. Cette assurance permet au prêteur de se faire rembourser si vous n’effectuez pas votre paiement. L’assurance prêt hypothécaire nécessite le versement d’une prime qui s’ajoute normalement à la valeur de votre hypothèque. Une autre bonne raison de verser une mise de fonds plus élevée.

Intérêt hypothécaire

L’intérêt est le montant ajouté aux fonds empruntés en vue de compenser le prêteur pour l’utilisation de son argent. Il s’exprime par un taux annuel applicable au prêt hypothécaire. Il est habituellement payé au prêteur par versements périodiques, en même temps que le remboursement du capital (montant du prêt).

Comparer les conditions

Pour choisir le prêt hypothécaire qui vous convient le mieux, gardez en vue vos objectifs et vos besoins. Il existe de nombreuses options. Une hypothèque peut être personnalisée en fonction de votre situation particulière.

Prêt hypothécaire ouvert ou fermé

Le prêt hypothécaire ouvert vous permet de rembourser votre dette, en partie ou en totalité, à tout moment et sans pénalité. Mais attendez-vous à payer un taux d’intérêt plus élevé en contrepartie de cette souplesse. Le prêt hypothécaire fermé prévoit une durée déterminée et des modalités fixes. Vous pourrez effectuer des paiements anticipés chaque année, sans pénalités, et vous obtiendrez un taux d’intérêt plus favorable pour avoir accepté de conserver votre prêt hypothécaire pendant la durée prévue.

À taux fixe ou à taux variable

Un prêt hypothécaire à taux fixe est un prêt dont le taux est établi pour la durée de l’hypothèque; ce taux ne varie pas avec les fluctuations du marché. Avec un prêt hypothécaire à taux variable, le taux d’intérêt augmente et baisse de temps en temps, suivant le changement des taux d’intérêt sur le marché.

Autres types de prêts hypothécaires

  • Hypothèque de deuxième rang : L’hypothèque de deuxième rang est accordée sur une propriété faisant déjà l’objet d’un premier prêt hypothécaire. Si vous ne pouvez plus honorer vos obligations et que la maison est vendue, le prêt de deuxième rang sera remboursé après l’hypothèque principale. Étant donné le risque plus élevé associé à l’hypothèque de deuxième rang, le taux d’intérêt sera plus élevé.
  • Prêt sur propriété louée à bail : Ce prêt est accordé à l’égard d’une maison construite sur un terrain loué. Ce type de prêt doit être amorti sur une période moins longue que celle du bail visant le terrain.
  • Hypothèque subsidiaire : Il s’agit d’une hypothèque sur un bien immobilier qui sert comme sécurité pour un prêt ou une marge de crédit. Les fonds ainsi empruntés peuvent servir à l’achat d’une autre propriété ou à d’autres fins, comme l’achat de meubles ou les rénovations.
  • Prêt-relais : Il s’agit d’un prêt spécial, à court terme, destiné à couvrir la période entre la conclusion de l’achat d’une propriété et l’établissement final des dispositions de paiement. On a souvent recours à ce type de prêt lorsque la date d’achat de la nouvelle propriété est antérieure à la date de vente de la propriété actuelle.
  • Prêt accordé par le vendeur : Le vendeur offre d’avancer les fonds pour l’achat de la maison. L’acheteur rembourse le prêt directement au vendeur, à un taux d’intérêt convenu entre eux.

Remboursement de votre prêt hypothécaire

L’amortissement désigne le nombre d’années requis pour rembourser le prêt hypothécaire en entier. Par exemple, si la période d’amortissement de votre prêt est de 25 ans, il vous faudra 25 ans pour rembourser votre prêt hypothécaire. Plus la période d’amortissement est longue, plus vous paierez d’intérêt.

Conseils pour rembourser votre prêt hypothécaire

  • Versez la mise de fonds la plus élevée possible.
  • Augmentez au maximum la fréquence de vos versements. En optant pour des versements hebdomadaires ou aux deux semaines au lieu de mensualités, vous pourrez épargner beaucoup d’argent au fil du temps.
  • Augmentez le montant de vos paiements; de cette façon, vous pourrez réduire la période d’amortissement et payer moins d’intérêt.
  • Profitez de tout privilège de paiement par anticipation afin de rembourser un montant forfaitaire de votre capital.
  • Choisissez la plus courte période d’amortissement possible et essayez de la réduire à chaque renouvellement hypothécaire.
  • Le budget mensuel de votre ménage devrait être le plus important facteur à examiner pour déterminer les modalités de votre prêt hypothécaire.

Frais pour remboursement anticipé

La convention hypothécaire est un contrat que vous signez avec le prêteur et aux termes duquel vous vous engagez à rembourser le montant emprunté selon un taux d’intérêt spécifié et pendant une durée déterminée. Il arrive que vous ayez à déroger aux termes de ce contrat si vous vendez votre maison, si vous choisissez de renégocier l’hypothèque afin de profiter d’un taux d’intérêt moins élevé ou si vous êtes en mesure de rembourser le prêt hypothécaire en entier avant la fin de la durée prévue. Si vous rompez le contrat, votre prêteur exigera probablement des frais pour remboursement anticipé afin de compenser sa perte sur le réinvestissement des fonds.

Les renseignements à propos des frais de remboursement anticipé se trouvent dans votre convention hypothécaire. Il s’agit généralement du montant le plus élevé entre trois mois d’intérêt et le différentiel de taux d’intérêt. Le différentiel de taux d’intérêt est l’écart entre le taux d’intérêt que vous payez sur l’hypothèque et le taux auquel l’institution peut prêter l’argent jusqu’à la fin de la durée de l’hypothèque. La convention hypothécaire spécifie la façon dont la pénalité pour remboursement anticipé est calculée et vous donne la formule pour pouvoir estimer ces frais. Afin d’obtenir une estimation plus exacte, il suffit de communiquer avec votre prêteur qui effectuera les calculs pour vous. Notez que l’estimation reçue de la part du prêteur n’est exacte qu’au moment du calcul. Le lendemain ou une semaine plus tard, les variables utilisées dans le calcul pourraient changer. Par exemple, les taux d’intérêt et la durée qui reste sur l’hypothèque seraient différents, affectant ainsi le montant des frais imposables.

Si vous vous engagez à rembourser votre prêt hypothécaire avant la fin de la durée prévue, le prêteur pourra fixer les frais que vous aurez à payer et vous évitera ainsi des changements possibles.

Exemple de l’intérêt sur un prêt hypothécaire (appliqué mensuellement)

Montant du prêt

250 000 $

250 000 $

250 000 $

Taux d’intérêt

7 %

7 %

7 %

Amortissement

15

25

35

Mensualité

2 233,12 $

1 751,04 $

1 579,66 $

Total des versements annuels

26 797,44 $

21 012,48 $

18 955,92 $

Coût d’emprunt

151 961,60 $

275 312 $

413 457,20 $

Ressources

Les banques du Canada fournissent une mine d’information aux consommateurs relative à l’achat d’une maison et aux hypothèques. Visitez leur site Web pour en savoir plus.

Publications

Contenu connexe