Close

 

 

 


FATCA and the Canada-U.S. Intergovernmental Agreement (IGA): Information for Clients

Last modified: 02 July 2014

The following information is for clients of Canadian financial institutions to help them understand how the Foreign Account Tax Compliance Act (FATCA) and the Canada-U.S. intergovernmental agreement (IGA) might affect them.

What is FATCA?

The Foreign Account Tax Compliance Act (FATCA) is legislation passed in the United States in 2010. FATCA is intended to detect "U.S. persons" who are evading U.S. tax using financial accounts held outside of the United States. Under FATCA, non-U.S. financial institutions are required to report relevant information to the U.S. tax authorities, the Internal Revenue Service (IRS), about financial accounts held by identified U.S. persons. If a non-U.S. financial institution does not comply with FATCA, the IRS can impose a 30 per cent withholding tax on U.S. source payments paid to the financial institution or its clients.

What is the intergovernmental agreement (IGA)?

On February 5, 2014, the Canadian government announced that it had entered into an intergovernmental agreement with the U.S. government under the existing Canada-U.S. Tax Convention. The requirements of the IGA are reflected in the Income Tax Act so financial institutions in Canada do not have to follow FATCA requirements.

Under the IGA, financial institutions in Canada will report relevant information on accounts of U.S. persons to the Canada Revenue Agency (CRA) rather than directly to the IRS. The CRA will then exchange the information with the IRS through the provisions in the existing Canada-U.S. Tax Convention. The 30 per cent FATCA withholding tax no longer applies to retail clients of Canadian financial institutions. In June 2014 the CRA issued detailed technical guidance for financial institutions to follow to help them meet their reporting obligations under the IGA. Under the new requirements, customers of Canadian financial institutions may be asked to certify or clarify their U.S. tax status.

In accordance with the IGA requirements, financial institutions in Canada began applying their due diligence procedures starting July 1, 2014. Information reporting by financial institutions to the CRA and the exchange of information will begin July 1, 2015.

More information on the IGA can be found on the federal Department of Finance and CRA websites at these links:

What is a U.S. person?

According to U.S. tax law, you may be considered a U.S. person if you are:

  • A citizen of the U.S. (including an individual born in the U.S. but resident in Canada or another country, who has not renounced U.S. citizenship);
  • A lawful resident of the U.S. (including a U.S. green card holder)
  • A person residing in the U.S.

You may also be considered a U.S. person if you spend a considerable amount of time in the U.S. on a yearly basis. If you are unsure if this affects you, contact your tax advisor.

U.S. corporations, estates and trusts may also be considered U.S. persons.

U.S. persons generally have an obligation to file annual tax returns and other information with the U.S. government. For more information about these U.S. tax obligations, visit the IRS website at the following link or speak to your tax advisor.

http://www.irs.gov/Individuals/International-Taxpayers/U.S.-Citizens-and-Resident-Aliens-Abroad

How do banks determine which accounts have to be reported to the CRA?

Under the IGA, banks are required to review new and existing client accounts to look for any indication that an individual may be considered a U.S. person. Indicators that someone may be a U.S. person include U.S. identification used to open an account or a U.S. address associated with the account. Your financial institution may ask you to self-certify that you are not a U.S. person by providing additional documentation. If you choose not to provide this additional documentation upon request, your financial institution will be required to send your account information to the CRA which may share it with the IRS.

For more information on financial institution requirements under the IGA, visit the CRA website:

http://www.cra-arc.gc.ca/tx/nnrsdnts/nhncdrprtng/ndvdls-eng.html

I am not a U.S. person

I am not a U.S. person. What does the IGA mean for me?

The majority of Canadians are not U.S. persons and for them, the IGA has no impact. If you have an existing account and there is an indication that you may be a U.S. person, or if you are opening a new account, your financial institution may ask you to provide additional information or documentation to demonstrate that you are not a U.S. person.

However, if you choose not to provide this additional documentation upon request, your financial institution will be required by Canadian law to report your account information to the CRA.

Do I have to provide my passport to open a bank account?

No. Under the IGA and Canadian banking law, proof of citizenship is not required to open a bank account. The vast majority of Canadians can open an account with financial institutions as they always have. However, if there is some indication in a new or existing account that you might be a U.S. person, then your financial institution may ask you to self-certify that you are or are not a U.S. person for tax purposes.

What about people that already have a bank account? What do they have to do?

In most cases, nothing. Under the IGA, banks are required to review their current customer information. If there is no information indicating that an individual may be a U.S. person, then those customers do not have to do anything.

I am a U.S. person

I am a U.S. person. What does the IGA mean for me?

If you are a U.S. person, your financial institution is required to share information about the account and the account holder to the CRA. Information that could be transmitted includes name and address and certain financial information about the account.

Find out more about how U.S. persons may be affected by the IGA on the CRA website:

http://www.cra-arc.gc.ca/tx/nnrsdnts/nhncdrprtng/fq-eng.html

Does the IGA apply to businesses or just individuals?

If you are opening a business account or you have an existing business account, your financial institution has to identify certain account holders that are U.S. entities or certain non-U.S. entities in which U.S. residents or U.S. citizens have an interest. Financial institutions may rely on information that they already have or that is publicly available, or they may ask their clients to provide a certification to declare whether the client is a U.S. person under U.S. tax law. You may also be asked to identify the type of business in which you are engaged because there are different requirements for different types of businesses.

More information on this can be found on the IRS website:

http://www.irs.gov/Individuals/International-Taxpayers/Classification-of-Taxpayers-for-U.S.-Tax-Purposes

The CRA also has information about how the IGA may affect U.S. entities in Canada:

http://www.cra-arc.gc.ca/tx/nnrsdnts/nhncdrprtng/ntts-eng.html

Do U.S. account holders face discrimination or the possibility of having their accounts closed?

No. The FATCA requirement that Canadian financial institutions close accounts or refuse to offer services to U.S. persons in certain circumstances has been eliminated under the IGA.

What types of financial accounts are subject to reporting under the IGA?

Financial institutions in Canada are required to report on most types of financial accounts held by U.S. persons, including bank, mutual fund, brokerage and custodial accounts, annuity contracts and some life insurance policies that have an investment or savings component.

Do financial institutions have to disclose information about registered plans?

The following registered plans are exempt from reporting:

  • Registered Retirement Savings Plans (RRSPs)
  • Tax Free Savings Accounts (TFSAs)
  • Registered Disability Savings Plans (RDSPs)
  • Registered Pension Plans (RPPs)
  • Registered Retirement Income Funds (RRIFs)
  • Pooled Registered Pension Plans (PRPPs)
  • Registered Education Savings Plans (RESPs)
  • AgriInvest Accounts
  • Deferred Profit-Sharing Plans (DPSPs)

Note that this does not affect a U.S. person’s obligation to report income earned in any of these plans on their U.S. tax return where required.

What new tax obligations does the IGA put on U.S. persons?

None. The IGA is a tax information sharing agreement only; it does not change the U.S. tax obligations of U.S persons. The U.S. and Eritrea are the only countries in the world that tax on the basis of citizenship rather than residency. Most other countries, including Canada, tax based on residency rather than citizenship. But the U.S. tax system treats all citizens as U.S. residents for tax purposes no matter where they live, and requires them to file taxes with the U.S. government. Usually they are given credit for the taxes paid in their country of residency, so many U.S. persons living in Canada end up paying no U.S. tax at all, but they are still required to file U.S. tax returns every year. U.S. persons should consult their tax advisor to determine what their U.S. tax filing obligations are.

Are all financial institutions in Canada required to comply with the IGA?

The IGA requirements are part of Canadian tax law and all financial institutions, including banks, credit unions, brokerage firms, insurance companies and mutual fund companies, have to abide by these Canadian laws. Some categories of financial institutions have reduced requirements, such as small deposit-taking institutions and those that only serve local clients or only issue credit cards. Very small deposit-taking institutions with assets of less than $175 million are exempt from reporting.

Do banks in Canada support the IGA?

We understand that the U.S. government is attempting to reduce tax evasion, but we have publicly opposed FATCA as the wrong way to go about it. However, as the U.S. government has no intention of repealing FATCA, the CBA believes that entering into the IGA was the best approach under the circumstances.

Why do governments have to share information about citizens at all?

Tax information sharing is nothing new and it is part of a new global reality. The G20 has stated publicly that the best method of addressing tax evasion internationally is through the expanded use of tax information sharing, and the G20 has asked the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) to develop “a new single global standard for automatic exchange of information.” The Common Reporting Standard was introduced in February of 2014 and details of how the new standards will be implemented are expected in September of 2014.

Canada and the U.S. already have a tax information sharing arrangement in place where Canadian tax authorities provide information to U.S. tax authorities on U.S. residents earning income in Canada, and vice versa. The IGA extends this to also include U.S. taxpayers who are residents of Canada.

The above information is intended to provide general guidance only, and is not an exhaustive analysis of all provisions of the IGA. The above information should not be construed as legal or financial advice. We recommend you seek the advice of your financial or tax advisor to better understand how the IGA impacts you or your business. The above information is current as of July 2014.

External Links

Fermer

 

 

 


Accord intergouvernemental entre le Canada et les États-Unis au sujet de la FATCA (Accord)

Dernière modification 20 juillet 2015

Renseignements destinés aux clients des banques

Les renseignements suivants sont destinés à aider les clients des institutions financières à comprendre quels effets l’accord intergouvernemental entre le Canada et les États-Unis au sujet de la FATCA aurait sur eux.

Qu’est-ce que la FATCA?

La FATCA (Foreign Account Tax Compliance Act) est une loi qui a été adoptée aux États-Unis en 2010. Cette loi est destinée à déceler les « personnes des États-Unis » qui ont recours à des comptes étrangers pour éviter le paiement de l’impôt américain. En vertu de la FATCA, les institutions financières non américaines doivent communiquer au fisc américain (IRS) toute information pertinente au sujet des comptes financiers détenus par un client identifié comme étant une personne des États-Unis. Dans le cas où une institution financière non américaine ne se conforme pas à la FATCA, l’IRS pourra imposer une retenue d’impôt de 30 % sur les paiements de sources américaines versés à cette institution financière ou à ses clients.

Qu’est-ce que l’accord intergouvernemental?

Le 5 février 2014, le gouvernement canadien a annoncé la signature d’un Accord intergouvernemental avec le gouvernement des États Unis en vertu de la Convention entre le Canada et les États-Unis actuellement en vigueur. Les exigences de l’Accord sont reflétées dans la Loi de l’impôt sur le revenu. Ainsi, les institutions financières au Canada n’ont pas à se conformer aux exigences de la FATCA.

Aux termes de l’Accord, les institutions financières canadiennes remettent à l’Agence du revenu du Canada (ARC), plutôt que directement à l’IRS, les renseignements pertinents sur les comptes détenus par des personnes des É.-U. au Canada. L’ARC communiquera par la suite ces renseignements à l’IRS conformément aux dispositions de la convention sur l’information fiscale déjà signée par les deux pays. La retenue d’impôt de 30 % prévue par la FATCA ne s’applique plus aux clients de détail des institutions financières canadiennes. L’ARC a publié des directives techniques détaillées que les institutions financières devront suivre pour les aider à se conformer aux obligations de déclaration en vertu de l’Accord. Conformément à ces exigences, on pourrait demander aux clients des institutions financières au Canada d’attester ou d’expliciter leur situation fiscale aux É.-U.

Conformément aux dispositions de l’Accord, les institutions financières au Canada ont commencé à appliquer les procédures de diligence raisonnable le 1er juillet 2014. Les déclarations par les institutions financières à l’ARC ainsi que l’échange de renseignements ont commencé le 1er juillet 2015.

De plus amples renseignements au sujet de l’Accord se trouvent sur le site de Finances Canada et de l’Agence du revenu du Canada :

www.fin.gc.ca/n14/14-018-fra.asp

www.cra-arc.gc.ca/tx/nnrsdnts/nhncdrprtng/menu-fra.html

Qu’est-ce qu’une personne des États-Unis?

Selon la législation fiscale américaine, sont considérés comme une « personne des É.-U. » :

  • tout citoyen des États-Unis (notamment une personne née aux États-Unis qui réside au Canada ou dans un autre pays et qui n’a pas renoncé à sa citoyenneté américaine);
  • tout résident légal des États-Unis (notamment un titulaire de la carte verte américaine); et
  • tout résident permanent des États-Unis.

Vous pouvez également être considéré comme une personne des É.-U. si vous passez chaque année une période suffisamment longue aux États-Unis. En cas de doute, veuillez communiquer avec votre conseiller fiscal.

Les sociétés, les successions et les fiducies américaines pourraient aussi être considérées comme des personnes des É.-U.

Les personnes des États-Unis sont tenues généralement de faire une déclaration de revenus annuelle et de soumettre d’autres renseignements auprès du gouvernement américain.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur les obligations fiscales américaines, veuillez consulter le site Web de l’IRS à l’adresse suivante :

www.irs.gov/Individuals/International-Taxpayers/U.S.-Citizens-and-Resident-Aliens-Abroad

Comment les banques déterminent-elles quels comptes feront l’objet d’une déclaration à l’ARC?

Selon les dispositions de l’Accord, les banques doivent passer en revue tous les comptes, nouveaux et anciens, à la recherche d’indices montrant que le titulaire peut être une personne des États-Unis. Ces indices comprennent, entre autres, les pièces d’identité utilisées pour ouvrir le compte ou une adresse aux États-Unis associée au compte. Votre institution financière pourra vous demandera d’attester que vous n’êtes pas une personne des États-Unis, en fournissant des documents additionnels. Selon le cas, si les documents ainsi demandés n’ont pas été soumis, votre institution financière pourra se trouver dans l’obligation de fournir les renseignements sur votre compte à l’ARC qui les communiquerait à l’IRS.

Pour de plus amples renseignements sur les obligations des institutions financières aux termes de l’Accord, consultez le site Web de l’ARC :

www.cra-arc.gc.ca/tx/nnrsdnts/nhncdrprtng/ndvdls-fra.html

http://www.cra-arc.gc.ca/tx/nnrsdnts/nhncdrprtng/gdnc-fra.pdf 

Je ne suis pas une personne des États-Unis

Je ne suis pas une personne des États-Unis. Qu’implique cet Accord dans mon cas?

Les Canadiens, dans leur majorité, ne sont pas considérés comme des personnes des É.-U. et ne sont donc guère concernés par l’Accord. Si vous détenez déjà un compte, ou si vous en ouvrez un nouveau, et qu'il y a des raisons de croire que le statut de personne des É.-U. s’applique à vous, votre institution financière pourra vous demander de lui fournir des preuves que vous n’êtes pas une personne des É.-U.
Si vous ne fournissez pas ces renseignements, votre institution financière sera dans l’obligation, aux termes des lois canadiennes, de transmettre les renseignements sur vos comptes à l’ARC.

Dois-je présenter mon passeport au moment d’ouvrir un compte bancaire?

Non, conformément à l’Accord et aux lois du Canada, une preuve de citoyenneté n’est pas exigée pour ouvrir un compte. La plupart des Canadiens peuvent continuer à ouvrir un compte auprès d’une institution financière comme ils l’ont toujours fait. Toutefois, si dans un compte existant ou un nouveau compte il y a des indications que vous êtes une personne des États-Unis, la banque pourra vous demander au client d’attester qu’il n’est pas une personne des États-Unis aux fins fiscales.

Qu’en est-il des titulaires actuels de comptes bancaires? Que doivent-ils faire?

Dans la plupart des cas, rien. L’Accord prévoit un examen de la part des banques de tous les renseignements de leurs clients. S’il n’y a rien qui indique que le client pourrait être une personne des États-Unis, aucune mesure ne sera prise.

Je suis une personne des États-Unis

Je suis une personne des États-Unis. Qu’implique cet Accord dans mon cas?

Si vous êtes une personne des É.-U., votre institution financière sera dans l’obligation de communiquer à l’ARC les renseignements pertinents à votre sujet et au sujet du compte. Les renseignements ainsi transmis comprendraient le nom et l’adresse des titulaires ainsi que certains renseignements financiers sur le compte.

De plus amples renseignements à ce sujet se trouvent sur le site Web de l’ARC :

www.cra-arc.gc.ca/tx/nnrsdnts/nhncdrprtng/fq-fra.html

L’Accord s’applique-t-il aux comptes commerciaux ou seulement aux comptes individuels?

Les institutions financières sont tenues de vérifier si les entreprises titulaires de comptes commerciaux, nouveaux ou existants, sont des entités américaines, ou si des entités non américaines dans lesquelles des résidents ou des citoyens des États-Unis détiennent des parts. Les institutions financières pourront se fier à des renseignements qu’elles détiennent déjà ou qui sont d’ordre public, comme elles pourront demander aux titulaires d’attester que l’entreprise n’est pas soumise aux obligations de déclaration de revenus aux États-Unis. Il se peut que les exigences diffèrent selon le type d’entreprise, donc l’institution financière cherchera également à obtenir cette information.

De plus amples renseignements sont disponibles sur le site Web de l’IRS (en anglais seulement) :

www.irs.gov/Individuals/International-Taxpayers/Classification-of-Taxpayers-for-U.S.-Tax-Purposes

L’ARC offre également des renseignements à ce sujet :

http://www.cra-arc.gc.ca/tx/nnrsdnts/nhncdrprtng/ntts-fra.html

Les titulaires de comptes américains sont-ils traités différemment ou leurs comptes peuvent-ils être fermés?

Non. L’Accord a éliminé l’exigence prévue dans la FATCA de fermer les comptes de personnes des É-U. ou de leur refuser les services bancaires dans certaines circonstances.

Quels types de comptes financiers font l’objet d’une déclaration en vertu de l’Accord?

Au Canada, les institutions financières doivent déclarer la plupart des types de comptes détenus par des personnes des É.-U., notamment les comptes bancaires et de courtage, les contrats de rente et certains contrats d’assurance dotés d’une composante de placement ou d’épargne.

Les institutions financières doivent-elles communiquer des renseignements au sujet des régimes enregistrés?

Les régimes enregistrés suivants sont exempts de l’exigence de déclaration :

  • Régime enregistré d’épargne-retraite (REER)
  • Compte d’épargne libre d’impôt (CELI)
  • Régime enregistré d’épargne-invalidité (REEI)
  • Régime de pension agréé (RPA)
  • Fonds enregistré d’épargne-retraite (FEER)
  • Régime de pension agréé collectif (RPAC)
  • Régime enregistré d’épargne-études (REEE)
  • Compte agri-investissement
  • Régime de participation différée aux bénéfices (RPDB)

Notez, toutefois, que le titulaire d’un des comptes précités devra quand même déclarer les revenus qui en découlent dans sa déclaration de revenus annuelle américaine, lorsqu’il y a lieu.

Quelles nouvelles obligations fiscales cet Accord impose-t-il sur les personnes des É.-U.?

Aucune. L’Accord concerne uniquement l’échange de renseignements aux fins fiscales, sans modifier les obligations fiscales qu’ont déjà les personnes des États-Unis. Les États-Unis et l’Érythrée sont les seuls deux pays au monde où l’imposition se fait selon la citoyenneté et non selon la résidence. La plupart des autres pays, dont le Canada, suivent un système d’imposition selon la résidence et non la citoyenneté. Or, aux fins de la déclaration de revenus, tous les citoyens des États-Unis sont considérés comme résidant aux É.-U., peu importe où ils résident effectivement, et doivent donc faire une déclaration de revenus auprès du gouvernement américain. Généralement, ces personnes reçoivent du crédit pour l’impôt payé dans leur pays de résidence, ce qui fait que de nombreux Américains vivant au Canada finissent par ne rien payer au fisc américain. Ceci dit, tous doivent faire une déclaration de revenus annuelle à l’IRS. Toute personne des
É.-U. devra consulter son conseiller fiscal afin de déterminer ses obligations en matière de déclaration de revenus au gouvernement américain.

Toutes les institutions financières au Canada doivent-elles se conformer à l’Accord?

L’Accord fait partie des dispositions fiscales canadiennes et toutes les institutions financières, notamment les banques, les coopératives de crédit, les firmes de courtage, les compagnies d’assurance et les sociétés de fonds communs de placement, doivent se conformer aux nouvelles dispositions législatives. Des exigences moins élevées s’appliquent à certaines catégories d’institutions financières de plus petite taille et aux institutions qui desservent des clients locaux ou uniquement émettent des cartes de crédit. Les institutions financières de très petite taille, c.-à-d. celles dont les actifs totalisent moins de 175 millions de dollars, sont exemptées de ces exigences.

Les banques du Canada sont-elles en faveur de l’Accord?

Nous comprenons que le gouvernement américain essaie de réduire l’évasion fiscale, mais nous avons toujours pensé que la FATCA n’est pas le bon moyen pour s’y prendre et nous nous y sommes publiquement opposés. Toutefois, étant donné que le gouvernement américain n’a aucunement l’intention d’abroger la FATCA, l’ABC croit que la signature de cet Accord est la meilleure solution dans ces circonstances.

Pourquoi les gouvernements partagent-ils des renseignements au sujet des citoyens?

Le partage des renseignements fiscaux n’est rien de nouveau et fait de plus en plus partie de la nouvelle réalité mondiale. Les membres du G20 ont affirmé publiquement que la meilleure méthode de lutte internationale contre l’évasion fiscale était le recours plus élargi au partage de renseignements fiscaux. À la demande du G20, l’Organisation de coopération et de développement économiques (OCDE) a donc élaboré « une norme internationale unique d’échange automatique de renseignements ». La norme commune en matière de déclaration a été publiée en février 2014. Aux termes de cette norme, le Canada s’est engagé à procéder à l’échange de renseignements fiscaux avec d’autres pays à compter de septembre 2018. Le gouvernement canadien devrait entamer en 2015 l’élaboration d’une loi et de lignes directrices en lien avec la norme commune. 

Le Canada et les États-Unis ont déjà conclu une convention d’échange de renseignements fiscaux en vertu de laquelle les autorités canadiennes fournissent aux autorités américaines des renseignements sur le revenu imposable gagné au Canada par des résidents américains, et vice versa. Le présent Accord élargira la portée de ces échanges aux contribuables américains qui résident au Canada.


Les présents renseignements sont fournis à titre informatif seulement; ils ne constituent pas une analyse exhaustive de l’ensemble des dispositions de l’Accord. Ils ne doivent pas être considérés comme des conseils de nature juridique ou financière. Nous vous recommandons de consulter votre conseiller financier ou votre conseiller fiscal pour mieux comprendre l’incidence de l’Accord sur vous et sur votre entreprise. Les renseignements contenus dans le présent communiqué étaient exacts en juillet 2015.

Liens externes