Close

 

 

 


Banks Operating in Canada

Last modified: 14 July 2015

The banking industry includes domestic banks, foreign bank subsidiaries, full-service foreign bank branches and foreign bank lending branches operating in Canada. 

As major players in Canada's financial industry, the banks serve millions of customers. They include individuals, small and medium-sized businesses, large corporations, governments, institutional investors and non-profit organizations.

The major domestic banks offer a full range of banking, investment and financial services. They have extensive, nation-wide distribution networks and also are active in the United States, Latin America, the Caribbean, Asia and other parts of the world.

Many large international banks have a presence here — through a subsidiary, representative office or branch of the parent bank. Most specialize in corporate and investment banking (e.g., niche financing) and have only one or two offices/branches. A notable exception is HSBC Bank Canada, which has a strong retail presence with branches across Canada.

Schedule I banks are domestic banks and are authorized under the Bank Act to accept deposits, which may be eligible for deposit insurance provided by the Canadian Deposit Insurance Corporation.

Schedule II banks are foreign bank subsidiaries authorized under the Bank Act to accept deposits, which may be eligible for deposit insurance provided by the Canada Deposit and Insurance Corporation. Foreign bank subsidiaries are controlled by eligible foreign institutions.

Schedule III banks are foreign bank branches of foreign institutions that have been authorized under the Bank Act to do banking business in Canada. These branches have certain restrictions. 

The Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions (OSFI) authorizes these institutions to operate in Canada. To view the OSFI list of all banks operating in Canada, click here and select "Banks."

For a list of institutions that are members of the Canadian Bankers Association, please visit our Member Banks page.

Fermer

 

 

 


Les banques du Canada

Dernière modification 14 juillet 2015

Le secteur bancaire comprend des banques canadiennes, des filiales de banques étrangères et des succursales de banques étrangères offrant des services complets, ainsi que des succursales de prêts de banques étrangères exerçant des activités au Canada. 

Acteurs clés du secteur financier canadien, les banques desservent des millions de clients. Il s’agit de particuliers, de petites et moyennes entreprises, de grandes entreprises, d’administrations publiques, d’investisseurs institutionnels et d’organisations sans but lucratif.

Les grandes banques canadiennes offrent une gamme complète de services bancaires, de services d’investissement et de services financiers. Elles possèdent de vastes réseaux de distribution à l’échelle nationale et sont aussi actives aux États-Unis, en Amérique latine, aux Caraïbes, en Asie et dans d’autres parties du monde.

Bon nombre de grandes banques internationales sont actives au Canada – par l'intermédiaire d’une filiale, d’un bureau de représentation ou d’une succursale de la banque mère. La plupart se spécialisent dans les services bancaires aux grandes entreprises et les services d’investissement (p. ex., le financement de créneaux) et ne possèdent qu’un ou deux bureaux ou succursales. La Banque HSBC Canada fait toutefois exception à la règle, affirmant une forte présence dans les services bancaires aux particuliers grâce à des succursales un peu partout au Canada.

Banques de l’annexe I - Les banques de l’annexe I sont des banques canadiennes autorisées, en vertu de la Loi sur les banques, à accepter des dépôts qui peuvent être admissibles à l’assurance-dépôts fournie par la Société d’assurance-dépôts du Canada.

Banques de l’annexe II - Les banques de l’annexe II sont des filiales de banque étrangère autorisées, en vertu de la Loi sur les banques, à accepter des dépôts qui peuvent être admissibles à l’assurance-dépôts fournie par la Société d’assurance-dépôts du Canada. Les filiales de banque étrangère sont contrôlées par des institutions étrangères admissibles.

Banques de l’annexe III - Les banques de l’annexe III sont des succursales bancaires d’institutions étrangères autorisées, en vertu de la Loi sur les banques, à exercer des activités bancaires au Canada. Ces succursales sont assujetties à certaines restrictions.

Le Bureau du surintendant des institutions financières (BSIF) autorise ces institutions à exercer des activités au Canada. Pour voir la liste de toutes les institutions bancaires exerçant des activités au Canada, visitez la page des entités réglementées et appuyez sur Banques.

Pour la liste des institutions membres de l’Association des banquiers canadiens, visitez la page de nos banques membres.